OPEN SPACE ADVISORY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

December 7, 2021 1:30pm Zoom

Members Present

Twyla McComb, Don Meaders, Taylor Bui, Michael Scisco, Barbara Taylor, Scott Forrester, Tasia Young

Members Absent

Staff Members Present

Amanda Romero (Sr. Administrative Assistant, Open Space Division), Colleen Langan-McRoberts (Superintendent, Open Space Division), James Lewis (Asst. Superintendent, Open Space Division), Dave Simon (Director, Parks and Recreation)

Visitors Present

Laura Rummler (Councilor Harris' Analyst), Don Harris (COA Councilor), Chris Daniel (COA, Investment officer), Diane Gibson (COA Councilor)

1. Call to Order and Introductions

Vice Chair Tasia Young called the meeting to order at 1:36pm.

2. Action: Approval of Agenda

Don Meaders moved approval of the agenda, second by Taylor Bui.

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0

Note: Board wondered why some items that were deferred from October's meeting, not on the agenda this month.

3. Action: Approval of the October 26, 2021 Meeting Minutes

Motion: Barbara Taylor moved the approval of minutes from the October 26, 2021 Minutes; second by Don Meaders

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0

4. Public Comment

None

5. Councilor Harris Update

Councilor Harris and Chris Daniel (COA Investment Officer) spoke on the trust fund investment income, commercial property and endangered lands.

6. **O-21-79 Update**

Councilor Harris, Director Simon and Board discussed O-21-79

Motion: Michael Scisco moved; Be it so moved that the Open Space Advisory Board (OSAB) appreciates and values the opportunity to meet with Councilor Harris to discuss Ordinance O-21-79. OSAB agrees to recommend to City Council that O-21-79 be deferred and referred to LUPZ. OSAB will clarify its reasons for this request in a detailed letter to the City Council that will be reviewed and approved by the full OSAB. OS Staff will ensure review and approval of letter by OSAB and delivery to City Council will comply with the Open Meetings Act.; second by Barbara Taylor

Roll Call Vote: Twyla McComb, Taylor Bui, Michael Scisco, Don Meaders, Tasia Young, Scott Forrester, Barbara Taylor

Motion carried unanimously, 7-0

7. Staff Updates

Director Simon and Superintendent Colleen Langan-McRoberts updated the board on R-21-22 that came up at the City Councilor's meeting. Superintendent Langan-McRoberts also updated the board on ongoing projects happening within Open Space.

8. Action: Nomination and election Board Chair

Elected Board Chair is: Taylor Bui

Roll Call Vote: Twyla McComb, Taylor Bui, Michael Scisco, Don Meaders, Tasia Young, Barbara Taylor Motion to Elect Board Chair by Twyla McComb, second by Don Meaders. Motion carried unanimously, 6-0.

9. Action: Nomination and election Vice Chair

Elected Board Vice Chair is: Michael Scisco

Roll Call Vote: Twyla McComb, Taylor Bui, Michael Scisco, Don Meaders, Tasia Young, Barbara Taylor Motion to Elect Board Vice Chair by Taylor Bui, second by Don Meaders. Motion carried unanimously, 6-0.

10. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Twyla McComb, second by Don Meaders. Motion carried unanimously, 6-0. Meeting adjourned at 4:09pm.